Snowglobe – Our Land Brains


Categories: , , , ,


Our Land Brains is a warm and inviting record filled with comfortable sounds and friendly melodies. Though the Beatles and Beach Boys influences aren’t quite as obvious, Snowglobe shares many psychedelic affinities with the Elephant 6 bands, such as the Apples in Stereo and especially Neutral Milk Hotel. The result is a charming and affable listen with swelling thrift-store organs, horns, acoustic guitars, chimes, and even some strings all blending into a pleasing whole. The band’s vocals are occasionally a little bit too restrained for their own good, limiting themselves within a specific vocal range. The songs are catchy enough, though, such as Tim Regan’s “Dream Works” and Brad Postlethwaite’s “Smiles and Frowns.” Our Land Brains doesn’t aggressively push in any progressive direction, but that’s not really the point. Highly enjoyable.

Additional information

Weight 1 lbs
  1. Waves Rolling
  2. Beautiful
  3. Anthem
  4. Dream Works
  5. Blue Balcony
  6. Big City Lights
  7. Adrenaline Mother
  8. Response
  9. Smiles And Frowns
  10. Muse
  11. Stubber
  12. Experiments
  13. Playground
  14. The Song That Frustrates Us
  15. Goodbye Dream
  16. Thriller