Luther Dickinson and The Cooperators – Live 2016



In the winter of 2016, Luther Dickinson began touring behind the release of his latest record, Blues & Ballads: A Folksingers Songbook Vols 1 & 2. Normaltown Hall, a now extinct listening room that sat above the New West Records office in Athens, GA, was known for hosting community events and intimate concerts intended for the listener and performer to connect. The venue capacity was permitted for 115 listeners, but on the night of March 9, 2016 there might have been over 200 people stuffed into the venue. Luther Dickinson (guitar, vocals), Sharde Thomas (drums, fife, vocals), Will Sexton (guitar), Amy LaVere (upright bass) and Brandon Chornes (drums) got on stage and brought down the house that night with a very intimate and eclectic set of American music. This LP was released for Record Store Day 2020 in a super limited run of 1,000 copies pressed on sky blue vinyl.  In the words of Luther’s legendary father, Jim, “World Boogie is coming!”

  1. Death Comes on Wings of Crepe/Blind Lemon and the Hook Man
  2. Hurry Up Sunrise
  3. Karmic Debt
  4. Highwater (Soldier)
  5. Station Blues
  6. Mean Ol' Wind Died Down
  7. Bang Bang Lulu
  8. Chevrolet
  9. Shady Grove
  10. Little Sally Walker