Gritty, Groovy, and Gettin’ It


Categories: , , , Tags: ,


Gritty, Groovy, & Gettin’ It was released months after songwriting partner Isaac Hayes’ Hot Buttered Soul. Hayes produced and co-arranged Porter’s debut set. It wasn’t nearly as successful as Hayes’ solo work, but it did reach number four on Billboard’s R&B Albums chart. The 2013 reissue adds both sides of Porter’s lone Stax-proper single, which wasn’t distributed on a nationwide level. Decent previously unreleased tracks and some radio ads and jingles are also included, and the booklet features extensive liner notes.

Additional information

Weight 1 lbs
  1. I Only Have Eyes for You
  2. Guess Who?
  3. I'm A-Tellin' You
  4. Just Be True
  5. The Way You Do the Things You Do
  6. Can't See You When I Want To
  7. One Part-Two Parts
  8. I Don't Know Why I Love You
  9. Can't See You When I Want To
  10. Win You Over
  11. Don't Make No Nevermind
  12. Check Your Checking Account
  13. I Can't Tell No Difference [Alternate Take]
  14. Can't See You When I Want to [WVON Radio Ad]
  15. WVON Radio Jingle
  16. House of Wax Radio Jingle